Fighting Darien Connecticut Evading Responsibility / Hit-and-Run Arrests (Part 3 of 4)
Fighting Darien Connecticut Evading Responsibility / Hit-and-Run Arrests
(Part 3 of 4)
As any of the best Darien Connecticut criminal lawyers and attorneys understand, police officers and court prosecutors will assume that if you left the scene of an accident, then you must have been breaking another serious motor vehicle law—like DWI / DUI, driving without insurance, or driving with a suspended license (or no license at all). Your top Darien Connecticut criminal lawyer attorney knows that this is the first issue that needs to be addressed in your legal case, especially if your lawyer is trying to head off an arrest, and they are trying to save you the public embarrassment and fallout of having a Darien arrest published on the internet.
By working closely with the Darien Police Department early on in your case, your attorney may be able to keep your case classified as a “civil matter,” especially if they are able to convince the police that you left the scene out of panic or your urgent need to tend to an injury. While suspicious, it isn’t unusual for people to panic and leave the scene of an accident in Darien Connecticut without leaving their contact information, especially in the case of teenagers and new drivers who aren’t so comfortable on the roads.Driver’s License Penalties for Darien Connecticut Evading Responsibility Arrests
If you are arrested or ticketed for Evading Responsibility / Hit-and Run in Darien Connecticut, in violation of C.G.S. § 14-224, then it’s important to realize that your criminal case comes with other repercussions. As your top Darien Connecticut criminal lawyer will warn you, pleading guilty to a Darien Evading Responsibility arrest or summons ticket automatically triggers a driver’s license suspension in addition to a permanent criminal record.
So exactly how long will the DMV suspend your license with an Evading Responsibility conviction per CGS 14-224?
At least 90 days. When determining the length of time to suspend your license, the Connecticut DMV takes into account your criminal conviction record and the severity of the accident in your case. If you are convicted for a felony Evading Responsibility / Hit-and-Run arrest in Darien Connecticut because you caused serious physical injury, or even an accidental death, then you can expect your license to be suspended for at least 1 year. If you are a Connecticut Evading Responsibility repeat offender, then suspensions can extend to at least 2 years. For less serious misdemeanor Evading Responsibility convictions in Darien, your license will be suspended for 90 days for a first offense, as outlined in C.G.S. § 14-111.Can I Go to Jail for My Evading Responsibility / Hit-and-Run Arrest in Darien Connecticut?
Yes, but there are many defense strategies available to you that can help you avoid jail. There are many considerations that determine whether a Darien Evading Responsibility arrest will result in jail time. The court typically takes into consideration the extent of the damages and injuries alleged in your case (especially if someone was critically injured). The court and prosecutors look at your criminal arrest history, as well as whether or not you’ve paid the victim for their repair costs and medical bills. Were you properly insured to cover all of the damages to the car and passengers? Were you remorseful? What does your driving record look like? Were you committing the additional crime of distracted driving with a cell phone?
Under Connecticut law, a misdemeanor Evading Responsibility conviction can result in a maximum 1-year prison sentence, followed by probation, and monetary fines. A felony Evading Responsibility conviction is punishable by up to 10 years in prison, followed by probation and a maximum monetary fine of $10,000. While drivers rarely get the maximum jail sentence for a first offense, you and your top Darien Connecticut criminal lawyer’s priorities should be no jail, no criminal record, and a complete dismissal and expungement of your Darien Evading Responsibility arrest as quickly as possible.You Can Be Arrested for Evading Even if You Weren’t Driving!
This one is hard to believe for even some of the best criminal lawyers in Darien Connecticut.
If your car was involved in a hit-and-run accident in Connecticut, then the owner can be arrested for Evading Responsibility, even if he or she wasn’t driving the car at the time of the accident. This usually occurs when the police are able to identify the car involved in the accident (through photographs and accident reconstruction), but still cannot identify the driver.
You see, under Connecticut statutory law, police officers are able to impute operation and control of the car to the registered owner. This means if your teenager borrows your car and is involved in a hit-and-run accident in Darien Connecticut, the parent-owner of the car can be arrested. The burden then shifts to the owner to prove to police and the court that he or she was not actually driving the car, and was not responsible for the accident. Cases like these illustrate why it’s so critical to have an experienced Darien Connecticut criminal lawyer involved during the investigation stage of your Darien Evading Responsibility / Hit-and-Run case, even if you are truly innocent. Your attorney will know exactly what evidence needs to be presented to the Darien Police, and to prove you were not present at the scene of the accident, so that you can avoid an arrest, court case, and all the expenses and headaches that accompany them.
Continue Reading…Darien Evading Responsibility Arrests, Part 4 of 4
(Scrubbing Your Arrest off the Internet, Reducing Evading Charges, and much more)