DUI / DWI Arrests in Stamford, Connecticut (Part 1 of 3)
DUI / DWI Arrests in Stamford, Connecticut
(Part 1 of 3)
As the best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyers and attorneys know, a Stamford Connecticut arrest for DUI / DWI under CGS 14-227a triggers two prosecutions against you. First, depending on whether you are a first time DUI / DWI offender in Stamford Connecticut, or whether you risk being charged as a second time or repeat offender, you must fight your DUI / DWI misdemeanor or felony arrest in Stamford Superior Court. And second, the Connecticut DMV has its own hearing procedures, as the DMV will suspend your driver’s license and you will need to fight the suspension in a “per se” hearing at the Bridgeport DMV. And to make matters worse, the Stamford Connecticut police will quickly release your DUI / DWI arrest reports to the local online news websites, hoping that shaming and embarrassing you will deter other people from drunk driving. Thankfully, some of the top Stamford Connecticut criminal law firms know how to scrub the internet of your Stamford DUI / DWI arrest and get your Stamford arrest removed from the internet. So if you have been arrested for DUI / DWI in Stamford Connecticut, then you should call a top Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyer attorney so you can start the process of not only getting your Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI arrest dismissed, but also getting your Connecticut drivers license restored.Should You Take the Breath Test for Your Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrest?
The best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI / OUI criminal law firms are frequently asked by their clients whether they should take the breath test during a DUI / DWI arrest in Stamford Connecticut. As of July 1, 2015, the Connecticut DUI / DWI breath test and refusal rules have dramatically intensified, requiring almost all first time DUI / DWI offenders in Stamford—as well as repeat DUI / DWI offenders in Stamford Connecticut—to install an Ignition Interlock Device (called an “IID”) in their cars. Under the new Connecticut DUI / DWI laws ( explained in greater detail here), first time offenders in Stamford Connecticut will face a 45 day license suspension followed by a 6 month IID requirement for a failed breath, blood or urine test. And if you outright refuse the breath test during a Stamford Connecticut first time offender DUI / DWI arrest, then you will face a 45 day license suspension followed by a 1 year IID installation mandate. As the best DUI / DWI / OUI lawyers attorneys in Stamford Connecticut can also explain, you may be eligible for a work permit during this suspension. So use that one phone call to contact a top Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyer. In addition to driver’s license considerations, your top Stamford Connecticut DWI lawyer will also weigh other factors before advising you to take or refuse the breath test, such as the number of prior DUIs / DWIs you may have and the seriousness of your accident (injuries, property damage, etc.). You will be allowed to speak to your Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyer in private, so be sure to insist on speaking with any of the best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI law firms prior to making your decision on taking or refusing a breath or urine test.What Happens at Your First Court Date for a Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrest?
Many people arrested in Stamford Connecticut for DUI / DWI under CGS 14-227a think they can go to court alone and get their Stamford DUI / DWI arrest reduced or dismissed quickly. Unfortunately this is wishful thinking, as Connecticut has dedicated millions of dollars to DUI / DWI enforcement and are not just giving out slaps on the wrist. The best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI law firms will tell you that in many cases, Connecticut prosecutors want convictions, especially if you have a high BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level, or if there is serious personal injury or property damage. In Stamford Connecticut state prosecutor’s eyes, you are a high risk to re-offend and they will push for a guilty plea to a Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI and will want you on probation for 18 months to 2 years. So don’t go it alone, as having a top Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI / OUI attorney lawyer by your side at your first court date for your Stamford DUI / DWI arrest sets the tone for your case, sets the table for your defense, and allows your legal team to present your case circumstances in the most favorable light, from both a legal perspective as well as a mitigation (or leniency) perspective. The best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyers can quickly pick apart a police report, zero in on police mistakes and errors regarding the administration of the breath tests and Field Sobriety Tests, and use those mistakes to your advantage during pre-trial discussions with prosecutors. So consider consulting with the best Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyers prior to your first court date to get that advantage over state prosecutors from the very beginning of your case.Don’t Let the Field Sobriety Tests Bolster Your Stamford Connecticut DUI Arrest
Many people who have not ever been arrested for a DUI / DWI in Stamford Connecticut are surprised to learn that they actually have the right to refuse taking the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests during a traffic stop for a DUI / DWI in Connecticut. Police officers tend to not give you a choice, and it’s completely natural and reasonable for you to want to try and be compliant with a police officer who is standing over you and who is threatening to arrest you. This is where you need to stand your ground. While you must provide a Stamford Connecticut police officer with your contact information, driver’s license, registration and insurance paperwork, you do not have to agree to take any of the 3 Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (also called the “SFSTs”), such as the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus Test, the Walk-and-Turn test, or the One-Legged Stand Test. If you refuse, this will certainly aggravate the Stamford police officer during your traffic stop, but it will also give them less evidence to arrest you (and can often give you a huge advantage) in you Stamford Connecticut arrest for a 14-227a DUI / DWI first-time or repeat offender charge.
Continue Reading…Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrests, Part 2 of 3
(Fighting Your Stamford Connecticut DUI / DWI, First Time & Repeat Offenders, Getting Your Arrest off the Internet, and much more)