Driver’s License Suspensions for Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrests (Part 1 of 2)
Driver’s License Suspensions for Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrests
(Part 1 of 2)
Did you know that by driving on a Connecticut public road or by applying for a Connecticut driver’s license you automatically enter into a contract with the State of Connecticut regarding Connecticut DUI / DWI arrests and mandatory license suspensions? And as the best Stamford, Greenwich, Darien Connecticut DUI / DWI / OUI lawyers would tell you, this contract obligates you to agree to be tested for drugs and alcohol when you are arrested for a Connecticut DUI / DWI. This implicit consent (or “implied consent” as top Wilton, Fairfield and New Canaan Connecticut DUI / DWI lawyers call it) to drug or alcohol testing gives the Connecticut DMV the right to impose an automatic license suspension upon drivers who refuse to submit to chemical or blood alcohol testing, or whose tests demonstrate an elevated blood alcohol content (“BAC”) above the legal limit.
So go ask any top Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyer or attorney: if you fail or refuse a drug or alcohol test in connection with a Stamford, Greenwich, or Darien Connecticut arrest for DUI / DWI arrest under C.G.S. 14-227a, then you’ve got 2 issues to deal with: (1) Court Issues: a Connecticut criminal arrest for misdemeanor or felony DUI / DWI, and (2) DMV Issues: a license suspension called a “per se suspension” (or automatic suspension) by the Connecticut DMV. And as of July 2015, there are new penalties that affect all Connecticut drivers arrested for 14-227 DUI / DWI in Stamford, Greenwich, Darien, Westport, or anywhere else in Connecticut. These penalties are also tougher on drivers under 21 arrested for DUI / DWI, resulting in drivers under the age of 21 facing longer suspension times and harsher Ignition Interlock Device (“IID”) requirements. Because of the serious consequences of these charges on your driving privileges and auto insurance premiums, any top Connecticut criminal law firm specializing in DUI / DWI will tell you that it is crucial to devote equal attention and resources to both your criminal court and DMV cases.Always Appeal Your Connecticut DUI / DWI Driver’s License Suspension
If you are arrested in Greenwich, Fairfield or Westport Connecticut for DUI / DWI, then, sometimes even before you are ordered to appear in the Stamford, Norwalk or Bridgeport criminal courts, the DMV will mail you a letter indicating your suspension date and your appeal deadlines. Specifically, and as top Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal attorneys and lawyers know, this Connecticut DMV letter will disclose the length of your suspension, the effective date of your suspension, and your appeal rights. There are many factors that impact the length of your suspension—including your age, whether you are a repeat DUI / DWI offender in Connecticut, your BAC level, or whether you refused the test entirely. The DMV does not give you much time to decide whether you will appeal your Connecticut DUI / DWI per se suspension (thanks again to your implied consent to that good ol’ contract between you and folks at the Connecticut DMV). In fact, you only have about 10 days to 2 weeks to file an appeal of your Connecticut DUI / DWI arrest suspension. As a result, you have little time to contact a top Stamford or Greenwich Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyer attorney to begin the appeal process, or at the very least, file an appeal so you can have some more time to decide if you want to pursue the appeal. The appeal is free and you or your top Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyer will report to the nearest DMV to argue your Connecticut DWI / DUI appeal in front of a DMV Commissioner.
Continue Reading…Connecticut DUI / DWI License Suspensions, Part 2 of 2
(Ignition Interlock Device Penalties, Under 21 & Repeat Offender IID Requirements, and much more)